Aperture, Shutter speed and ISO

Blake

Steel Member
Aperture, Shutter speed and ISO

These three terms are vital to be understood if you want to at least get decent shots from your camera. After all, the camera cannot take good photos. YOU have to be able to take good photos. Taking good photos takes time, energy and commitment to learn. Learning is crucial in photography. Learning from your mistakes AND your successes is vital to gain experience and knowledge.

I have only been shooting for a year, that's not long. I don't not see myself as a photography master, nor would I want to. I am not a professional, I have not made 1 cent from selling my photography. But in this first year of photographing many different subject matter I have learnt so much from just shooting, researching and living life. Every aspect of life is seen from a different viewpoint if your are a photographer You start to see the beauty in many things deemed to be dark and monstrous. But enough of all this hippy shit. Let's talk about the exposure triangle.

Aperture, Shutter-speed and ISO

What do these three things have in common? They are all used to obtain a "correct" exposure. The reason I use correct with quotation marks is because there is no "correct way" in photography, there never will be. "correct exposure" is based upon the photographer's interpretation and style.

To understand what all this is for you need to understand stops. I do not want to go into this in this post but here is a very great video on stops. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bv0vXD16_lA Adorama creates regular photography videos so I suggest you subscribe to them, as they are really educational.