Careers

skyrockett

Bronze member
Nice are you gonna stick with cars or will you move onto to like painting peoples houses there may be good money there if you know how to do it right
Not sure tbh, I'm going to stay with cars for a while yet, but industrial spray painting (machinery etc.) gets huge dollars, so there might be a chance of me doing that..

Beyond16

Bronze member
Im a sophomore computer science major.
It entails lots of long nights and tears(not really, but actually)
in it to stack $crilla
uhhh go to college I guess would be my advice. Learning to code isnt too bad but nothing compares learning the math and theory behind it, especially for positions like software engineers who can easily start you at over 6 figures
6 figure starting salaries are rare for software engineers, at least for locations with reasonable housing costs. A job in the Bay area might have a 20K cost of living premium over the same job in Texas. But even in Texas, starting salaries are probably just approaching 80K at best. My wife and I are both software engineers and we both have B.S. degrees. She has 8 years experience and HP is paying her only 75K. My salary started at 18K in 1982 and peaked at 120K. In the late 1990's a Master's degree could be worth a 10K premium on starting salary. It might be worth something similar today.

Frank T

Silver Member
6 figure starting salaries are rare for software engineers, at least for locations with reasonable housing costs. A job in the Bay area might have a 20K cost of living premium over the same job in Texas. But even in Texas, starting salaries are probably just approaching 80K at best. My wife and I are both software engineers and we both have B.S. degrees. She has 8 years experience and HP is paying her only 75K. My salary started at 18K in 1982 and peaked at 120K. In the late 1990's a Master's degree could be worth a 10K premium on starting salary. It might be worth something similar today.