Lens Help

Dean Bost

Bronze member
Im new to photography and i plan on getting a new camera soon. (probably just a t3i) Can anyone tell me what lens i should get? I want to get a really nice fisheye or wide angle. I was looking and saw how people post lens dimensions for example 50-250mm. How exactly do you know what kind of lens that would be?

Bear Grylls

M3MB3R
If you want a fisheye, get a many brand fisheye (rokinon,opteka,samyang,bower) I suggest the opteka 6.5 or rokinon 8mm CANON mount. Do not get one that attaches to the kit lense.

Whenever you buy a lens, it will tell you the zoom length ex: 50-250, 50, 70-300 and that's how much it zooms.

Aperture is an important factor to, the lower the F number the more light it lets in and gives it more DOF (more blurred background). Example: canon 50mm f1.8 is a really good lense and is only 104$ ish.

Devin Catron

Steel Member
6-8 would be a fisheye. if you want a wide angle I would suggest the sigma 10-20. 35mm would be good for portraits. 50mm wouldnt be too bad either. if you get a 50mm get the canon 50mm f1.4 it all depends on what you want to use it for. I would suggest getting a 50mm to start out with.

Anton

Silver Member
If you want a fisheye, get a many brand fisheye (rokinon,opteka,samyang,bower) I suggest the opteka 6.5 or rokinon 8mm CANON mount. Do not get one that attaches to the kit lense.

Whenever you buy a lens, it will tell you the zoom length ex: 50-250, 50, 70-300 and that's how much it zooms.

Aperture is an important factor to, the lower the F number the more light it lets in and gives it more DOF (more blurred background). Example: canon 50mm f1.8 is a really good lense and is only 104$ ish.

I wish you could like a post. This is one of the most helpful posts I've read on SR.

Dean Bost

Bronze member
yeah it really helped, and alright thanks devin. Im probably going to be using my fisheye for filming my riding, so what kind do you think i should get for t3i?

Max Kernmayer

Bronze member